Follow your Bliss

From a Small Town in India to the Great Buckingham Palace
| A True story

14463779_10209119537160603_894719871_n.jpg
Shivam Sharma

Memory is an odd beast to be sure, and cognitive science tells us that all of us confabulate memory to varying degrees. While we can’t change how our brains work—and we cannot change the fact that memory is a reconstruction—we can dig like miners searching for even faint memories of what once fuelled our passions. People who genuinely love their jobs have done this—in fact, they’re usually doing it all the time—and are in touch with that kid who loved to write, or make exceptionally mouth-watering dishes, or envision amazing buildings. The important part: what these people are doing in their jobs now may not be a carbon copy of those passions, but they’ve successfully integrated elements of those passions into what they do.


As a child, I wasn’t the brightest of the students. Some of my teachers would even say to me that I will never be able to do anything in life if I am not good in maths and science. Too bad most of us, particularly back in school, didn’t have the sense and ability to tell that person, “Thanks for predicting my life but no thanks.” And here I am, a Product Development Manager living in London for the last 7 years and that’s certainly not because of math’s and science; well at least not in my case.
-Choosing a career is one of the most difficult and most important choices you will ever make in life.
Steve Jobs once said, “Your time is limited, don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma, which is living the result of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of other opinions drown your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition, they somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”
Our society plays a very important role in our life. The pressure from parents and family members in itself is the biggest challenge that we face. Parents should support children with their decision. They need to start understanding that their pride is not in telling people that their child is a doctor or an engineer. It is all about their child doing well in whatever field he/she has chosen.
International Institute of Hotel Management, my alma mater in India. I applied for the Hotel Management course in IIHM. After a round of online test, group discussion and personal interview, I was given my “good to go” stamp. One of the major attributes that they look for is your personality. College life is tough and amazing at the same time. Don’t be mistaken that you don’t need to study in hotel management. There are a lot of books, lots of subjects and a lot of practical’s for you to understand thing in real-time. As a part of the course is also a semester of industrial training wherein we are sent to hotels for 6 months to get training in all major departments to understand and relate to the theory which we have studies in the college. IIHM has collaboration with universities in Scotland and London to complete the final semesters abroad. I choose to come to London for the 2 year integrated course after which I received BA Hospitality Management. The course also included a 1 year placement which I was fortunate enough to do at the prestigious Buckingham Palace as a footman to Her Majesty, The Queen. Great experience, I must say. After finishing my degree, I found a job as a host in The Emirates Lounge at Heathrow Airport. With my hard work and passion to work, I got up the success ladder and within 2 years was the Lounge Manager and then a Product Development Manager for the company with clients Emirates, Lufthansa and British Airways.

The only way to do great work is to love what you do. And trust me, I’m loving it.


Shivam Sharma

Product Development Manager – Lounge

DO & CO Event and Airline Catering Ltd.

Middlesex, London

Leave a Reply

