What’s meant to be, will always find a way!

headshot1
Anmol Whorra

Almost each one of us must have read the phrase “What’s meant to be, will always find a way” trending as an inspirational quotes filling up social media timelines. What’s the first thought that comes to your mind when you read the line? Rarely will people of any age, be it ours or the ones who are reading this article right now will relate it to the path you’ve chosen as your career. This choice is a difficult one, but definitely worth the fight.

I, Anmol Whorra, currently a Master’s student at University of Florida was asked to write an article on my journey from high school to grad school and also give some insights into computer science education and taking it up as a career. But I am no writer. So pardon me if my article isn’t written too well. If not a writer, then who am I? I am a coder. Yes, that’s what I can say after my five years of undergraduate and currently ongoing graduate study.

It might be rare, but Mathematics was my favourite subject in high school. I wasn’t a class topper. Actually, I was really bad in the course during my middle school. Back then, I could never imagine a profession for myself in which Math would play a major role. Coming from a doctor’s family, I had already broken the legacy of a “doctor’s child being a doctor” by not taking Biology in 11th standard. Computer was my second favourite subject, not because I was passionate about software but literally because I scored well. Also, programming didn’t feel as hard as chemical equations or solving pulley’s force. This is how I ended up in a professional degree in the world of computers.

Computer science is a vast discipline and you should choose if you can relate to or think you want to pursue any of the following:

  • Like to code in a programming language and run programs.
  • Like to design interfaces for applications or websites
  • Like to develop new software and mobile apps, program their websites and databases, and run efficient information networks.
  • And lastly but certainly not the least, you want to make a lot of money. It is definitely amongst the most lucrative jobs and I can’t see it changing anytime soon in the future.

A career in Computer science can focus on a particular major which can be one of the following. Do remember that computer science as a branch is ever growing and this list is not exhaustive.

  • Core software development
  • Web application development
  • Mobile (Android, iOS or Windows) application development
  • Machine learning
  • Data analytics
  • User interface designing and human computer interaction
  • Backend database management
  • Networking and distributed support
  • Graphics and game development

For those of you, who don’t know much about the field of computer science and information technology or about any of the sub topics I listed above, you would know for instance that computer is part of everything one does. We are the creators of technology. Computers touch our lives from the cars we drive, to the movies we watch, to the ways businesses and governments deal with us. Understanding different dimensions of computing is part of the necessary skill set for an educated person in the 21st century. Whether you want to be a scientist, develop the latest killer application, or just know what it really means when someone says “the computer made a mistake”, studying computing will provide you with valuable knowledge. To sum up, Computing is one of those fields where it is almost impossible to predict what will happen next. This is why we cannot even begin to imagine all the ways that you can make a contribution to it and it can make your life’s work exciting and real.

Anmol Whorra

Master’s student at University of Florida

Gainesville, Florida

Leave a Reply

