Every Great Dream begins with a Dreamer

14650694_1809372322612238_8312401146157794969_n
Shreya Tyagi

As a teenager I was pretty clueless about my future! All I knew was that I enjoyed artistic work and creative pursuits. I had a keen appreciation for art and luxury, but without any idea as in how to pursue my interests professionally. Straight after two gruelling years of studying Science at school in my hometown, Chandigarh, I joined (no prizes for guessing!) an engineering school, where I did my bachelors in Computer Science Engineering.

Fast forward four stressful years, and I found myself applying to business schools in the country. I settled on doing an MBA in International Business from University Business School, PU, during which I interned at KPMG, and wrote several independent research papers.

However, I was still not satisfied with the experience that I gained because the lack of opportunities in the luxury industry was always an issue. Determined to make a career out of my passion, I interned at Ethos Luxury Watch Boutiques and Jaguar Land Rover after my academics and started preparing for the GMAT. I knew I had to aim big, and Paris was the dream. I’m happy to share that I am currently pursuing a Masters in Management Grande École program at ESSEC Business School, Paris. This program has been ranked 3rd in the world for the past three years by the Financial Times, and also offers the prestigious highly coveted LVMH Luxury Brand Management Chair, which I will be applying for soon. Created in 1991, the LVMH Chair is the longest-standing program worldwide specifically dedicated to luxury brand management, and includes field projects, internships, and company visits to Ateliers et Musée Louis Vuitton, in Asnières, Christian Dior Couture, Guerlain, Moët & Chandon and Veuve Clicquot, in addition to working for Maisons Loewe, Céline, Givenchy, Marc Jacobs, Fendi, Donna Karan, Emilio Pucci, TAG Heuer, De Beers and Sephora.

Living in France has allowed me to understand French savoir-faire and has exposed me to the inner workings of the luxury world. I am happy to offer any help and guidance to aspiring consulting and luxury management students!

Bonne chance à tous!

Shreya Tyagi

Studies Master in Management Grande Ecole (MGE)

at ESSEC Business School, Paris

Leave a Reply

